CHL Question and Answer
Contact us at MisterGunsTX@gmail.com or 214-901-7429 for more information
Who Gets a CHL?
CHL students come from all types of people that share one common trait, the desire to be able to legally carry another tool to defend themselves in the worst of situations. The roughtly 500,000 Texas CHL holders are male and female, young and old.
CHL holders are all "gun people", right?
Absolutely not. Many class attendees are brand new to firearms. The course covers basic firearms instruction and safety and our new shooters receive personal attention and guidance. It may, though, help to contact Mister Guns ahead of time for some private instruction to increase the student's comfort level.
What does it take to be eligible for a CHL?
In a nutshell, one needs to :
- be 21 years of age or older (18 if active military)
- fill out the online form on the Department of Public Safety Website
- submit fingerprints electronically
- attend and complete the course
Applicants may complete the above in any order. Mister Guns suggests filling out the application and completing fingerprinting prior to attending the course so that the State of Texas can be doing their part (background checks, etc) while the applicant is completing the course requirements.
What is the course like?
The course is 10 hours long. We have a few different ways of doing it. We can break it into a couple of week days if you wnat to arrange for a group class, or it can be taken all at once on a Saturday, our typical offering.
Courses are offered, generally, at my classroom in Richardson at 75 and Campbell and typically begin at 7:00 am
All classes are different based on the student types, but one spends roughly 2-3 hours at the pistol range 7-8 hours in the classroom learning 4 major subjects: firearm safety, safe storage of firearms, use of force, and dispute resolution. We also cover other general firearm and concealed carry topics
There is an exam and shooting qualification, both of which aren't difficult. The course instruction will cover in detail everything needed to pass either portion.
The renewal course, for people already possessing a CHL, is 5 hours with a shooting portion and exam.
The State of Texas has mandated, by law, that the initial course be 10 hours long. Sometimes you will see shorter courses offered; beware, both you and the instructor are perpetrating a criminal offense, in some cases punishible by prison time. Any instructor who is caught violating the time requirement will also have his students' licenses revoked.
What is the price of the course?
There is a range fee, paid to Garland Public Range, cash or check of $10.00 for range members or 20.00 for non members. $10.00 of the non member fee purchases your membership to the range. This is in addition to the course price below.
- New License $100.00
- Renewal - $60.00
- Private 1 on 1 course $500.00 (will also teach 1 additional friend or family member)
- Private handgun instruction is also available for $50.00 per hour
- If you want to put together a whole class, then contact me for special rates for the organizer
Contact us at MisterGunsTX@gmail.com for more information
What do I bring to the course
- A handgun greater than .32 caliber, semi-automatic. You can qualify with a revolver, but that will be the only type of handgun that you will be able to carry, as per Texas State Law. If you bring an automatic, you can carry both. There is really no sense in qualifying with a revolver.
- Ear and eye protection is mandatory and a hat is encouraged.
- 50 rounds or ammuntion minimum, although you may wish to bring more in case you do not pass the initial shooting requirement.
Mister Guns can rent a handgun to you if you wish. The rate is 25.00 and Mister Guns must choose the ammunition
What is the shooting test?
On a standard B-27 target, like pictured right, one has to hit the blue 70% of the time.
Stage 1: Target at 3 Yards, 20 rounds
5 Shots, one at a time, 2 seconds each
10 Shots, fired 2 at a time, 3 seconds each pair
5 Shots in 10 seconds.
Stage 2: Target at 7 Yards, 20 rounds
5 Shots in 10 seconds
2 Shots in 4 seconds
3 Shots in 6 seconds
5 Shots, one at a time, 3 seconds each
5 Shots in 15 seconds
Stage 3: Target at 15 yards, 10 rounds
2 Shots in 6 seconds
3 Shots in 9 seconds
5 Shots in 15 seconds
We offer concealed handgun courses mainly to Denton, Frisco, Plano, Allen, Rockwall, Dallas, and any other areas in North Texas, but we can certify anyone who wants to come to the course.
Frisco CHL - Frisco Concealed Handgun License Plano CHL - Plano Concealed Handgun License Allen CHL - Allen Concealed Handgun License McKinney CHL - McKinney Concealed Handgun License Garland CHL - Garland Concealed Handgun License Dallas CHL - Dallas Concealed Handgun License Sachse CHL - Sachse Concealed Handgun License Richardson CHL - Richardson Concealed Handgun License Carrollton CHL - Carrollton Concealed Handgun License Wylie CHL - Wylie Concealed Handgun License